If a person dies and another person was to blame for their death, this person will likely face criminal charges. The criminal charges that they will face will depend on a number of factors, including the circumstances surrounding the person’s death and the state of mind of the convicted perpetrator.
If a doctor is believed to be responsible for the death of a patient, they are held liable under medical malpractice law. On the other hand, if a person planned to kill another, it’s likely they’ll be found guilty of murder. However, if a person never intended to cause a person’s death but did so because they were engaging in dangerous activities such as driving under the influence, they may face involuntary manslaughter charges. The following is an overview of involuntary manslaughter laws in Minnesota.
What is the definition of involuntary manslaughter?
Involuntary manslaughter is defined as causing a person’s death by acting recklessly or negligently. It means that a person had no intention of causing a person’s death, but that they did through overtly dangerous behavior that they should have known could have caused harm.
What is an example of involuntary manslaughter?
A classic example of involuntary manslaughter is a situation in which a person is texting and driving at high speeds. They should know this behavior is dangerous, but they do not intend to cause harm. When their car collides into the back of another car and causes the death of the other driver, this person would likely be found guilty of involuntary manslaughter.
What are the penalties for involuntary manslaughter in Minnesota?
If found guilty of involuntary manslaughter in Minnesota, you may be formally charged with manslaughter in the second degree or criminal vehicular homicide. You’ll face a maximum of 10 years in prison and a $20,000 fine.
If you need to defend yourself due to accusations of manslaughter, it is important that you take action to create a defense strategy to minimize charges.