Aggressively Protecting Your Rights

Three degrees of assault that can land you in a Minnesota prison

| May 8, 2020 | Violent Crimes

It is safe to say that the entire nation takes an aggressive approach to violent crimes. In Minnesota, it is no different, with lawmakers and prosecutors fighting to convict those accused of violent crimes. Defendants who ignore the seriousness of assault allegations could end up paying an extremely high price.

The right to a defense is yours as an American. Assuming that your side of the story will speak for itself is never a wise approach. A good first step for any defendant accused of committing violent crimes is understanding the different assault charges as well as the consequences you could face if you are convicted.

First-degree assault

Inflicting great physical harm could mean as much as 20 years in prison and fines of up to $30,000. Similar harsh penalties arise of convicted of using deadly force against law enforcement and other authority figures.

Second-degree assault

This charge involves using dangerous weapons. A conviction could mean seven years in prison and expensive fines. In cases involving significant bodily harm, defendants could receive a sentence of up to 10 years in prison and up to $20,000 in fines.

Third-degree assault

Inflicting a substantial amount of harm upon another person typically results in this assault charge. It can also apply to crimes against minors, especially if you have been convicted of child abuse in the past. Consequences include imprisonment for up to five years and fines of $10,000 or less.

It’s essential to understand the importance of a strong defense against an assault charge with the help of an experienced attorney.