Drug possession may not seem like it should be as serious as other kinds of drug crimes, but even simply having the drug in your home, car or pockets can put you at risk of serious penalties. The following penalties for drug possession apply to Minnesota and your case; you should defend yourself immediately to lower your risk of facing charges with these penalties.
First-degree charges for the possession for 50 or more grams of cocaine or methamphetamine can lead to a penalty of up to 30 years in prison with a four-year minimum if you've had a prior felony conviction for drug-related crimes. You could be fined up to $1 million.
Second-degree charges for possessing 25 or more grams of cocaine or methamphetamine can lead to up to 25 years in prison and require a three-year minimum if you've have a previous drug felony. You could be fined up to $250,000.
Third-degree charges are less serious, with up to 20 years in prison for the possession of 10 grams of any drug other than heroin. You could face fines of up to $250,000 and be penalized with up to 20 years in prison.
Fourth-degree possession charges lead to up to 15 years in prison and up to $100,000 in fines if you're found with 10 or more doses or hallucinogens or any amount of a Schedule I, II or III drug.
The least serious drug crime is a fifth-degree crime. For the possession of a Schedule I, II, III or IV drugs, you can face up to five years in prison or a $10,000 fine.
Source: Minnesota State University, "Controlled Substances Crimes & Penalties," accessed Oct. 05, 2016