Rape And Statutory Rape

Rape is a serious sex crime that involves penetration. There are different rape classifications in Minnesota, depending upon the victim's age, whether or not a weapon was used, and if the victim was injured during the offense.

In a majority of cases, rape is a felony with a punishment of at least one year in prison and very heavy fines. The individual must also register as a sex offender.

Rape-Related Offenses

There are a number of sex-related offenses that constitute rape. There are also three degrees to the offense with first degree being the most serious and third degree being the least serious. First-degree sexual conduct involves rape, which is the sexual penetration, of someone with any of the following circumstances in place:

  • The victim is under the age of 13, but the defendant is more than 3 years older than the victim
  • The victim is between the ages of 13 and 15 and the defendant is 4 years or more older than the victim and uses authority over the victim to make them submit
  • The victim is under the age of 16 and has a significant relationship with the defendant in which that relationship is used to force threats and make the victim feel danger, usually many instances occur over time
  • The victim is in reasonable fear of sustaining serious injuries
  • The victim is injured through the use of force
  • A weapon is used in the commission of the crime
  • Others help the defendant commit the crime
  • The defendant injures the victim with knowledge that the victim was mentally impaired or disabled or disabled physically

Many of the aspects of third-degree criminal sexual conduct are similar to that of first degree, but a defendant 2 years older than a victim 13-15 years old may be convicted. The victim can also be as old as 17 and have a significant relationship with the defendant or the defendant may be in a position of authority.

Penalties

If you have been charged with criminal sexual conduct, then you need your Minnesota criminal defense attorney to take a look at the aspects of the case and develop a defense strategy for you. If a person is convicted, the penalties include:

  • Fines
  • Incarceration
  • Psychological counseling
  • Victim restitution
  • Sex offender registration

If you have been charged with rape, you need to contact the Rivers Law Firm, P.A., today at 612-915-0355 or use our online form to find out what can be done for you in your case.